The Grand National 2024 Betting Odds

Three days of unforgettable horse racing headlined by the world’s greatest steeplechase, witness the thrilling spectacle that is the Grand National with BetMGM.

Format of the Grand National

The Grand National promises incredible feats of grit and determination from the outset. Held annually at Aintree Racecourse near Liverpool in Merseyside, each day promises something special with 21 races scheduled to take place throughout this prestigious event.

The opening day sets the stage perfectly with several Grade 1 races to look forward to, starting with the 13:45 Novices’ Chase and finishing with the 17:15 Mares’ Standard Open National Hunt Flat.

Opening Day (11th April) schedule:

  • 13:45 – Novices’ Chase (Grade 1)
  • 14:20 – 4-Year-Old Juvenile Hurdle (Grade 1)
  • 14:55 – Aintree Bowl Chase (Grade 1)
  • 15:30 – Aintree Hurdle (Grade 1)
  • 16:05 – Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase (Conditional & Amateur Jockeys)
  • 16:40 – Red Rum Handicap Chase
  • 17:15 – Mares’ Standard Open National Hunt Flat

Day two brings horse racing fashion and culture to the forefront on Ladies’ Day. Just as stylish are the several races scheduled to take place on the day, showcasing elegance on a completely different scale.

Ladies’ Day (12th April) schedule:

  • 13:45 – Novices’ Chase (Grade 1)
  • 14:20 – Handicap Hurdle
  • 14:55 – Top Novices’ Hurdle (Grade 1)
  • 15:30 – Melling Chase (Grade 1)
  • 16:05 – Topham Handicap Chase
  • 16:40 – Sefton Novices’ Hurdle (Grade 1)
  • 17:15 – Handicap Hurdle (Conditional & Amateur Jockeys)

The final day is the grand finale where legends rightfully earn their place in history. All eyes will be on the historic 16:00 Grand National, the 185-year-old handicap race hailed by many to be the world’s greatest steeplechase.

Grand National Day (13th April) schedule:

  • 13:20 – Bridle RoadHandicap Hurdle
  • 13:55 – Mersey Novices’ Hurdle (Grade 1)
  • 14:30 – Freebooter Handicap Chase
  • 15:05 – Liverpool Hurdle (Grade 1)
  • 16:00 – The Grand National
  • 17:00 – Maghull Novices’ Chase (Grade 1)
  • 17:35 – Standard Open National Hunt Flat Race

*Please note that all Grand National start times are subject to change

Explore our Grand National betting odds to see all our latest prices ahead of one of the biggest events in the annual horse racing calendar.

When & where is the Grand National held?

The Grand National is held annually at the historic Aintree Racecourse in Merseyside. This year’s meeting will continue a long-standing horse racing tradition, running from April 11th to the 13th 2024.

The look of modern-day Aintree is much different to what it once was but the excitement around it has only grown with time. When it was first held in the 1830s, horses had to jump a stone wall, cross a stretch of cultivated land and finish over two hurdles to claim victory.

Now, Aintree is currently made up of two distinct courses, each presenting competitors with a unique challenge:

  1. The Grand National Course
  2. The Mildmay Steeplechase Course

The Grand National course is regarded as the most difficult to complete successfully. This is due to the number of notorious obstacles found along the way, such as Valentine’s Brook, Canal Turn and Becher’s Brook.

Winners of the Grand National

Thousands of horses have competed for the grand prize at Aintree – including Lottery and jockey Jem Mason, who won the first official Grand National in 1839. Since then, over 80 horses have claimed victory with some recording multiple Grand National wins in their career.

Many competitors have recorded two victories in the Grand National – the likes of Abd-El-Kader, Reynoldstown and more recently; Tiger Roll – but only one leads the pack. Red Rum remains the most successful horse to compete in the competition, winning three times in 1973, 1974 and 1977.

Corach Rambler and his jockey Derek Fox won the Grand National last year in an incredible contest. By finishing first, the 8-1 favourite turned 21-year-old Cameron Sword into the youngest winning owner in Grand National history.

Here are the past 10 winners of the Grand National and their jockeys:

  • 2023 – Corach Rambler (Derek Fox)
  • 2022 – Noble Yeats (Sam Waley-Cohen)
  • 2021 – Minella Times (Rachael Blackmore)
  • 2019 – Tiger Roll (Davy Russell)
  • 2018 – Tiger Roll (Davy Russell)
  • 2017 – One For Arthur (Derek Fox)
  • 2016 – Rule The World (David Mullins)
  • 2015 – Many Clouds (Leighton Aspell)
  • 2014 – Pineau de Re (Leighton Aspell)
  • 2013 – Auroras Encore (Ryan Mania)

Can Corach Rambler and Derek Fox do it again in 2024? Check out our Grand National odds to see our latest prices on all the favourites competing this year.

Runners in the 2024 Grand National

More than 80 horses currently hold entries for the Grand National but not all of them will compete. A maximum field of 34 runners is permitted and will be revealed when final declarations are announced 48 hours before the race.

Notable horses currently holding entries for the 2024 Grand National include:

  • Corach Rambler
  • I Am Maximus
  • Vanillier
  • Panda Boy
  • Noble Yeats
  • Mahler Mission
  • Meetingofthewaters
  • Galvin
  • Kitty’s Light
  • Minella Indo
  • Limerick Lace
  • Capodanno
  • Mr Incredible
  • Chemical Energy
  • Latenightpass

Please note that all the above hold entries but are not confirmed

How to bet on the Grand National

Grand National betting at BetMGM is as varied as you might expect, giving you plenty of options on each day and ahead of the big race on the last day. Place individual bets or combine your efforts for the chance at higher payouts.

Popular Grand National bets include:

  • Win Bet – Betting on a specific horse to finish first
  • Place Bet – Betting on a horse to finish in the positions offered
  • Show Bet – Betting on a horse to finish in the top three
  • Each-Way Bet – Combination of a Win Bet and a Place Bet
  • Forecast Bet – Betting on the exact order of the first two horses to finish
  • Reverse Forecast Bet – Betting on the first two finishers regardless of order
  • Tricast Bet – Betting on the exact order of the first three finishers
  • Superfecta Bet – Betting on the exact order of the first four finishers
Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetMGM isn't available in your country.