Day One

Champion Day

Champion Day Betting

Day one of Cheltenham, otherwise known as Champion Day, kicks off four days of show-stopping entertainment in style.

Seven races are scheduled on day one of Cheltenham, with all eyes on the 15:30 Champion Hurdle, a two-mile Grade 1 race previously won by some of the very best in the sport. Legends like Blaris, National Spirit and Sir Ken have made a name off this prestigious race, which dates all the way back to 1927.

We have Champion Day betting odds for each race, starting with the 13:30 Supreme Novices’ Hurdle and culminating with the 17:30 Steeple Chase Challenge Cup. Here is the full race schedule for Day One of Cheltenham:

  • 13:30 – Supreme Novices’ Hurdle (Grade 1)
  • 14:10 – Arkle Challenge Trophy Chase (Grade 1)
  • 14:50 – Handicap Chase (Premier Handicap)
  • 15:30 – Champion Hurdle Challenge Trophy (Grade 1)
  • 16:10 – Mares’ Hurdle (Grade 1)
  • 16:50 – Juvenile Handicap Hurdle (Premier Handicap)
  • 17:30 – National Hunt Novices’ Chase (Grade 2)

*Please note that all timings are subject to change.

Cheltenham Blog & Expert Betting Tips

History of Champion Day

Since its inception, Champion Day has set the tone for what horse racing fans can expect over the four days to come. The built-up excitement of Cheltenham is there from the outset on Champion Day, setting the stage perfectly ahead of the very first race.

This spectacular day is headlined by the Champion Hurdle. The first run took place in 1927 and was won by Blaris, ridden by George Duller, with Beddam taking second place followed by Harpist in third.

The race has helped create multiple legends in the sport with some winning the grand prize on multiple occasions. Five horses have won three Champion Hurdles, a current record yet to be beaten:

  • Hatton’s Grace (1949-51)
  • Sir Ken (1952-54)
  • Persian War (1968-70)
  • See You Then (1985-87)
  • Istabraq (1998-2000)

The current record for jockey victories in the Champion Hurdle is four, held jointly by Tim Molony, Ruby Walsh and Barry Geraghty.

From horses to jockeys, several names will be vying to make history at Cheltenham 2024 – who lifts the trophy is for you to call across dozens of Champion Day betting odds.

What is the big race of the day?

While all races on day one of Cheltenham are virtually guaranteed thrillers, the biggest race on Champion Day is the Champion Hurdle. This Grade 1 National Hunt hurdle race is one of the most prestigious races in the horse racing calendar.

The Champion Hurdle will commence at 15:30 and is run over 2m ½f on the Old Course with eight hurdles to jump in total. For the latest Champion Hurdle prices, see our Champion Day betting odds.

Champion Day winners over the years

The winners of the Champion Hurdle are in elite company as victors in one of the highest-quality races in the sport. The past 10 winners of the race and their jockeys are:

  • 2023 – Constitution Hill (Nico de Boinville)

  • 2022 – Honeysuckle (Rachael Blackmore)

  • 2021 – Honeysuckle (Rachael Blackmore)

  • 2020 – Epatante (Barry Geraghty)

  • 2019 – Espoir d’Allen (Mark Walsh)

  • 2018 – Buveur d’Air (Barry Geraghty)

  • 2017 – Buveur d’Air (Noel Fehily)

  • 2016 – Annie Power (Ruby Walsh)

  • 2015 – Faugheen (Ruby Walsh)

  • 2014 – Jezki (Barry Geraghty)

  • 2013 – Hurricane Fly (Ruby Walsh)

Champion Day betting tips

Check out our Champion Day betting tips to learn more about the races taking place, the participants, the favourites going in and who we believe will lift the highly-coveted Champion Hurdle trophy.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetMGM isn't available in your country.