Day One - 14:50

Handicap Chase

National Hunt Handicap Chase Betting Odds

The Festival Trophy is a National Hunt steeplechase which takes place each March at the Cheltenham Festival.

It is open to horses aged five years or older, takes place on Cheltenham’s Old Course and is a test of stamina for the racers, covering a distance of approximately 3m 1f. As well as distance, the race features 20 fences to be navigated by the competitors.

Winners of the race have historically gone on to participate in the Grand National and a vast field this year will be hoping to follow in the footsteps of horses that have won both races, including most recently Corach Rambler.

Heading up the field this year is early favourite Meetingofthewaters, the Willie Mullins-trained seven-year-old. The Handicap Chase has seen British-trained horses win the last 10 outings – though defending champion Corach Rambler will not be in the running for a historic third title in a row this year.

For a full list of the runners and riders as well as the latest betting odds check out the BetMGM Cheltenham Hub.

Cheltenham Blog & Expert Betting Tips

History of the race

With the winners of this race often going on to compete in the Grand National at Aintree, there are by its very nature some notable names who have competed in the National Hunt Handicap Chase. The debut of the race in 1946 saw Dunnshaughlin victorious and since then four horses have won the race on two occasions. These are:

  • Sentina (1957, 1958)
  • Scot Lane (1982, 1983)
  • Un Temops Pour Tout (2016, 2017)
  • Corach Rambler (2022, 2023)

As well as horses making a name for themselves, the National Hunt Handicap Chase has also seen jockeys enjoy repeat success. Robert Thornton – Fork Lightning (2004), Kelami (2005), Bensalem (2011), and Tom Scudamore – An Accordion (2008), Un Temps Pour Tout (2016, 2017) are the jockeys to win this race twice.

The two leading trainers in the National Hunt Handicap Chase are Fred Rimell and Fulke Walwyn with three wins apiece.

Here are the last 10 winners of the National Hunt Handicap Chase and their jockeys:

  • 2013 – Golden Chieftain (Brendan Powell Jnr)
  • 2014 – Holywell (Richie McLernon)
  • 2015 – The Druids Nephew (Barry Geraghty)
  • 2016 – Un Temps Pour Tout (Tom Scudamore)
  • 2018 – Coo Star Sivola (Lizzie Kelly)
  • 2019 – Beware The Bear (Jeremiah McGrath)
  • 2020 – The Conditional (Brendan Powell Jnr)
  • 2021 – Vintage Clouds (Ryan Mania)
  • 2022 – Corach Rambler (Derek Fox)
  • 2023 – Corach Rambler (Derek Fox)

When is the National Hunt Handicap Chase at Cheltenham?

The National Hunt Handicap will take place on Tuesday 12th March with a start time of 14:50. It is the first of the handicap chases to be run at the festival, with the others including the Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys’ Handicap Hurdle and the Grand Annual.

Handicap Chase Betting Tips

Check out our latest tips for the National Hunt Handicap Chase, as well as the other races throughout the 2024 Cheltenham Festival.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetMGM isn't available in your country.